Representation Arrangements

This page outlines the representation arrangements for Porirua City Council elections.

Council Representation for elections

The Local Government Commission determined that for the election of the Porirua City Council on 12 October 2013, the following representation arrangements apply:

  • That the Porirua City Council comprise ten members elected from three wards, and the Mayor.

The present wards and ward boundaries for the Northern, Eastern and Western Wards will be revised to include all of Ranui in the Eastern Ward and the ten members are elected from these three wards, as set out below:

Northern Ward - four members Pukerua Bay, Plimmerton, Camborne, Hongoeka, Paremata, Papakowhai, Whitby, Judgeford, Pauatahanui, Paekakariki Hill
Eastern Ward - four members Ascot Park, Aotea, Waitangirua, Cannons Creek, Ranui
Western Ward - two members Titahi Bay, Takapuwahia, Elsdon, Porirua City Centre, Kenepuru, Mana Island

The following image illustrates the new wards that are now in effect.

Image showing proposed Porirua City Council Ward Boundaries.
Image showing future Porirua City Council Ward Boundaries.

The population that each member represents is as follows:


Electoral Population

No. of members

Electors per member













Community Board Representation

The Local Government Commission upheld the Council's proposal not to establish community boards at this time.

Maori Wards

There are no Maori Wards for Porirua City.

Ward Finder

If you want to find out which wards you are in, visit our Ward Finder to list your property.

Requirements for Review of Representation

The Local Electoral Act 2001 requires Council to review its representation at least once every six years. Council reviewed its representation arrangements in 2006 and again in 2012.  The next review is in 2018.

Council followed the procedure set out in the Local Electoral Act 2001 for conducting the reviews, and also the guidelines published by the Local Government Commission.

Links to more information

External websites:

Read the determination by the Local Government Commission.